Deer Permit Applications available online June 1-July 1
Wildlife Management Area Deer Hunt Permits Now Available
It's time to apply for your 2014-15 WMA Deer Hunt Permits. Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Wildlife Management Areas offer some of the best public hunting opportunity in the United States. To prevent overcrowding on popular WMAs, the AGFC limits some hunting opportunities through a permit draw system. Lowering hunter numbers not only regulates harvest, it offers a better hunting experience for the hunters who draw the tags. 
Here are a few things to keep in mind while applying:
  • Duplicate or incomplete applications will not be accepted. If you've already applied, please ignore this email.
  • Applications must be submitted online at by 11:59 p.m., July 1.
  • You must be at least 6 years of age the day the hunt begins. 
  • Youth permits are reserved for hunters ages 6-15 (as of the day the hunt begins)
  • Hunters with 12 or more AGFC violation points are ineligible to apply.
  • Applying is free, but successful applicants must pay $10 to receive WMA hunt permits. (There is no charge for WMA Doe Quota Permits.) 

Former AGFC Director Hugh Durham dies
LITTLE ROCK Ė Former Arkansas Game and Fish Commission director Hugh C. Durham IV, 51, died June 6 at his home in Ruston, La. Durham left International Paper Co. in 2000 to become AGFC director. He also was a member of the governorís cabinet and on the state Pollution Control and Ecology Commission.
Durham left state government in 2003 and became a co-owner of Hornet Limited Liability Co., which provides fire-suppression and fire-management services to the forest products industry. He was general manager of operations, development and human resources at Devine Wine and Spirits in Ruston at the time of his death.
Durham was born in Natchitoches, La., Jan. 25, 1963. He graduated from Louisiana Tech University in 1987 with a bachelorís degree in forestry, concentrating in wildlife management. He joined The Crawford Forestry Group in Shreveport in 1987 as a consultant developing and implementing forest management plans for non-industrial landowners in Arkansas, Louisiana and Texas.
Durham went to work for IP in 1990 as a timberlands wildlife biologist in Arkadelphia. He managed the wildlife and hunting lease business on 500,000 acres of industrial forest. He was promoted to a leadership position in the environment/wildlife section of IPís Natural Resources Group. He was responsible for endangered species management, inventory and policy for more than 6 million acres of company land throughout the U.S
In 1996, Durham was promoted to regional manager of public affairs in the companyís Jackson, Miss., office. He was responsible for lobbying the Mississippi and Tennessee legislatures and congressional delegations on labor, tax, land use, forestry and environmental regulatory issues on behalf of IP.
Durham is survived by his spouse, Carol Dreyfuss; sons Reed Michael Durham and Mason Lawrence Durham; daughters Leanne Rozelle and Carley Jill Bowman; grandchildren Colby Bowman and Casey Bowman, and his sister, Sharon Tunney Durham. He was preceded in death by his parents, Hugh C. Durham III and Charlotte Tunney Durham.